top of page
  • Writer's pictureJess Blenkarn

Top 10 Quotes from My Books



Sometimes a book has a few quotations that we remember even after finishing the book. These lines usually stand out because they are funny, profound, or because they leave us wondering what will happen next.


Below are my favourite quotes from my four novels (Irrefutable Annihilationoul Survivor, West of Dawn, and The Sixth Book) as well as an explanation as to why I love them:


1. “We aren’t hopeful to become president, or to someday, if we’re lucky, do someone’s taxes…” – Page 4, Soul Survivor


I love this quote because I find it hilarious. Both of my parents are accountants, and this line was meant as a funny little dig at what they do as being every child’s dream career.


2. “Instead of counting sheep, I count how many times my mind goes over the phrase ‘there will be a war’.” – Page 275, West of Dawn


I find this quote very suspenseful and relatable. We can all sympathize with the man who can’t fall asleep at night because he can’t stop thinking about something that was said. Especially not something as intense as “there will be a war”.


3. “See, I wouldn’t even consider reading the sixth book had my best friend not been murdered because of it this morning.” – Page 4, The Sixth Book


The Sixth Book opens with a few pages of the main character’s thoughts that take place well into the story, before flashing back and starting at the beginning. When we meet the main character, Finn, he starts his story by telling us the worst thing that ever happened to him. It is his motivation for going on.


4. “He thinks they’re building more machines. And he thinks they’re going to kill anybody who knows the truth about the last ones.” – Page 230 (last page), Irrefutable Annihilation


I love a good cliff hanger. And it doesn’t quite get better than this. Can’t wait to see where the eventual sequel takes me.


5. “I’ll be waiting, and remember, when you get here, don’t spill my tea. I don’t like it when people spill my tea.” – Page 296 (last page), The Sixth Book


While this isn’t as big of a cliff hanger, there’s nothing better than an enticing last line of a book. Especially when you learn something so trivial, but also so meaningful, about a main character. You’ll know what I mean when you read it.


6. Felix jumps in, slouching in his chair. “These guys are con men. I say they’re full of bologna.”

“That’s unhealthy,” I joke, but no one laughs. I suppose it is not a good time to make bologna jokes. Maybe tomorrow.

– Page 48, Soul Survivor


I love this dialogue, not only because I find it funny, but because it shows the maturity level of the protagonist, Twixin. As mentioned in my last blog, it is important to consider the physical andmental age of your main characters.


7. “There are few people in the world who know they are going to marry someone the day they meet them. I was not one of those people.” – Page 10, The Sixth Book


I find that a lot of novels romanticize their relationships instantly, though, more often than not, that’s not the case in real life. It’s important to create relationships that are realistic to the audience, such as a main character who wasn’t all that attracted to his future wife at first.


8. “Her eyes finally meet mine as she says ‘I’ve been selected’.” – Page 88, West of Dawn


This chapter-ending line leaves the reader in suspense as they wonder what will happen next. I love the simplicity of it as well. It sets the basis for the entire book and encourages readers to read on.


9. “Leif and I take one look at each other and grin. I knowwe’re going to like it here.” – Page 276 (last page), Soul Survivor


Of all four of my books, this is the only one with an obviously happy ending. That makes this sentence very unique in my mind, as it is the last sentence of Soul Survivor. After all the struggles the characters went through, right up until the last few pages, it’s nice to see them get a glimpse of a happy ending.


10. “Maia, I met this woman four years ago who hard-core flirted with me at my best friend’s wedding,” I giggled. “This woman changed every fibre of my being. She made me grow up, and she made me love the life I was given. We got a house together, and we grow together every day. As you said, I still can’t believe I get to love this woman every day for the rest of my life.”

She squeezed my hand, wiped a tear, and whispered, “I love you too.”

“Never said I was talking about you.” I winked.

– Page 66, Soul Survivor


I love this quote because of the characters involved. This is Finn’s vows to his new wife Maia during their wedding—vows he does not take seriously at all. I love watching him joke around with the woman he loves, especially since he is about to do a 180 in his personality once he finds the books. Plus, if you read on a few lines after this, there is some foreshadowing of the twist ending!



42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page